Jim Murray’s Whisky Bible Picks Best of the Year

Jim Murray’s 2019 Whisky Bible goes on sale today and includes his list of best whiskeys . For his overall winner, Murray selected the 2017 release of William Larue Weller

Murray’s 2nd place overall goes to Glen Grant 18 Year (which he often lauds), and 3rd overall to another BTAC member, Thomas H. Handy (2017).

Since 2004, Murray has released his Whisky Bible, which reviews a staggering number of all types of whiskeys and ranks the top three for each respective category (Bourbon, Scotch, Irish, etc.).

In recent years, Murray’s selections have become increasingly controversial, maybe none more so than his pick of Crown Royal Northern Harvest Rye for his overall winner in 2015. In 2016, Murray picked Booker’s Rye, for which there was little room for disagreement. And then, last year, Murray selected Buffalo Trace Distillery’s Colonel E.H. Taylor Four Grain bourbon. The pattern for picking North American products had obviously started to develop.

Here is a list of Murray’s recent picks for Whisky of the Year:

2017: Colonel E.H. Taylor Four Grain

2016: Booker’s Rye

2015: Crown Royal Northern Harvest Rye

2014: Yamazaki Single Malt Sherry Cask

2013: Glenmorangie Ealanta

2012: Thomas H. Handy Sazerac Rye (2011 release)

2011: Old Pulteney Single Malt Scotch 21 Year

2010: Ballantine’s 17 Year Blended Scotch

2009: Sazerac Rye 18 Year (2008 release)

2008: Ardbeg Uigeadail

2007: Ardbeg 10 Year

2006: George T. Stagg (2005 release)

2005: George T. Stagg (2004 release)

2004: George T. Stagg (2003 release)

While some doubt whether Murray remains objective in his selections, his impact on the market is unquestionable.

Copies of Murray’s Whisky Bible are available in major bookstores and Amazon.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *